Add or Remove a Blocked Wi-Fi Network (Mac)
    • Dark
      Light

    Add or Remove a Blocked Wi-Fi Network (Mac)

    • Dark
      Light

    Article Summary

    You can prevent Backblaze Computer Backup from backing up on selected Wi-Fi networks by adding those networks to a block list. If you add a Wi-Fi network to the block list, some Backblaze data may still be transmitted, but Backblaze will not upload backup data while you are connected to that network.

    Add a Network to the Block List

    1. Open the Backblaze Client Preferences Panel.
    2. Click Settings.
    3. Select the Performance tab.
    4. In the Wi-Fi network block list section, click(add).
      Backblaze scans for and displays a list of all of the visible Wi-Fi networks.
    5. Select the networks that you want to block.
    6. Click Add.
    7. Click OK.
      You will no longer back up when you connect to that network.

    Remove a Network from the Block List

    1. Open the Backblaze Client Preferences Panel.
    2. Click Settings.
    3. Select the Performance tab.
    4. In the Wi-Fi network block list section, select the network that you want to remove.
    5. Click(remove).
    6. Click OK.
      You can now back up when you are connected to that network.
    7. If network changes do not immediately take effect, pause your backup and click Backup Now.

    Was this article helpful?