Safety Freeze
    • Dark
      Light

    Safety Freeze

    • Dark
      Light

    Article Summary

    The Safety Freeze feature protects you from losing your backed-up data when errors occur. If Backblaze detects a major inconsistency between the backup records on your computer and the records on servers, Backblaze "freezes" the state of your backup.

    Multiple factors can cause a safety freeze such as running the same Backblaze installation from multiple locations (due to using Migration Assistant or by cloning software) or restoring from an older, local backup.

    Notes
    Beginning with version 8.5, Backblaze Computer Backup contains a self-healing component that is designed to prevent Safety Freezes.
    You must have Backblaze Computer Backup version 8.5 or newer, and there cannot be an enabled personal encryption key (PEK).
    The self-healing component does not require or allow for user engagement, and you will not be able to enter your PEK during this process.
    You can follow the steps outlined in this article to manually resolve a Safety Freeze.
    If your backup meets the above conditions and it is still frozen, contact Backblaze Support.

    To resolve a Safety Freeze, click here.


    Was this article helpful?